Posted by: flipflopfarmgirl | 01/17/2015

Jury Duty


You go to your mailbox every day to get your mail.  Just an average day.  You open your mailbox & start to look through the mail that came that day.  Then you see it.  Out of the corner of your eye.  You see the blue logo that for some reason some people hate to see.  Yup, it’s your notice that it’s your time to serve on JURY DUTY!!!!

Some will cringe & start to come up with every excuse in the book why they can’t/won’t be able to do it.  I actually don’t mind it.  Out of all of the times that I’ve had to actually go to Jury Duty, I’ve only been selected to be on an actual jury just once, & that was for Federal Jury Duty.

I know some of you will say that I’m crazy for liking Jury Duty.  Well it is one of our rights as citizen of the United States to do every 3 years.  I look at it as a day where I can catch up on some reading, since I usually either don’t get picked or they dismiss us without needing to panel a jury.

Some would say, “well I have kids how can I sit on a jury panel?”.  My answer to that would be, “I’m sure I could find some family members or friends or babysitter who would love to watch the girls for me, I’m sure you can find some too”.  Others would say, “I can’t miss work”.  Well yes you can.  Work will still be there when you return the next day or on the day you return if you are on a panel.

You should all want to sit on a jury & see how the judicial process works & feel proud that you get to participate in this.

I hope the next time you get that envelope in the mail that you won’t cringe with dread of having to serve on Jury Duty.  Take pride in it & enjoy.

Happy serving.

The Flip Flop Farm Girl….

Leave a Reply

Categories

