Posted by: flipflopfarmgirl | 01/18/2015

What’s going on on the Farm


It’s been a chilly couple of weeks here on the farm.  Just trying to keep the chickens & the bees alive while it’s below 30 degrees.

Thinking about Spring & Summer to get me through these very cold days of winter.

I need to start planning what I’m going to plant in my garden this year.  I definitely want to plant tomatoes, corn, different kinds of potatoes, different kinds of carrots, basil, chives, onions, asparagus  (I’ve never planted these before so this should be fun to see how they grow or if I can even grow them).  I think if I want to plant all of this that I’m going to have to expand the size of the garden lol.

I have to look into getting a tarp to put on the garden for weed control.  Weeds literally killed my garden last year.  I just couldn’t keep up with pulling all of them.  Will definitely need this if I’m going to expand the garden.

I think if I start looking for seeds now I should have all that I need/want before I need to actually plant the garden.  This way the seeds won’t be planted late & maybe they’ll actually grow this year.  I just need to wait for winter to be over with so I can clear out the garden from last year & wait for the last frost to happen.

I think I might start planting the seeds early downstairs with the light on them to give them a little bit of a head start.

So  now I just have to play the waiting game & get through Winter.

Have you started to think about what you’re going to plant in your garden this year? What are you going to plant?

Can’t wait for Summer.

The Flip Flop Farm Girl….

Leave a Reply

Categories

