Posted by: flipflopfarmgirl | 02/05/2015

Homemade Challenge


On Facebook I am on this page from The Survival Mom.  She challenged us to stop buying things that we can make at home for the month of February.

I’ve always wanted to do this, but just haven’t gotten around to it.  But since I’ve been “challenged” to do this, now seems like a great time to do it.

Have you ever bought those seasoning packets from the store?  Don’t get me wrong, they are great & easy to use.  But unless you catch a sale, those packets of seasoning can be expensive.  I tend to use a lot of taco seasoning in my cooking.  I use it in the meat for my tacos both chicken & beef.  I also use it in our chili (well I did until I found a great homemade chili recipe).

I did a lot of research & “tasting” of different recipes that I found online until I came up with a good mix that tasted good.  It’s not hard to find recipes for taco seasoning & many other seasonings online.

So during the month I will post what I’m making homemade, from spices to detergent & more.  Then next month I’ll update on the homemade items & if they work, how they work or for the spices if they taste good & what I’ve put in them.

Here is the recipe that I came up with for Taco Seasoning (I’ll have a post later in the month for the other spices that I’ll be making so be on the lookout for that).  Feel free to use this recipe or to use parts of it & make it how you & your family will like it.  This may seem like a lot but as I stated before I do use a lot of it.

I put all of the ingredients in a Mason Jar & shake it up before each time I use it.  This spring I am going to be planting & growing herbs to use in my seasonings so that I won’t have to buy them at the store.  Just hope I can grow enough to use for the entire year.

Taco Seasoning Recipe:

2 tbs chili powder; 1/2 tsp garlic powder; 1/2 tsp onion powder; 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes (I don’t like my food too spicy that I can’t eat it so I don’t put much red pepper flakes in my recipe but feel free to put as much or as little as you like); 1/2 tsp dried oregano; 1 tsp paprika; 2 tsp ground cumin; 1 1/2 tsp sea salt; 1 1/2 tsp black pepper.

To use:  for each pound of meat, either chicken or beef, I use 1 tablespoon of the above mix.

So will you take the challenge of making homemade items instead of buying them from the store or online?

I can’t wait to see how these things work or if they even work or taste good.  Try it, you may find that you can save yourself some money during the year.  I’m looking forward to see how much money I can save my family this year.

Happy Homemaking.

The Flip Flop Farm Girl….

Leave a Reply

Categories

