Posted by: flipflopfarmgirl | 06/11/2015

Share a Recipe Day


This year my husband bought 6 turkeys for us to raise & eventually eat.

Well, sadly, something got into the coop they were in & let’s just say they are no longer with us.

Since this happened, all I can think about is turkey & Thanksgiving.  Trust me, I don’t want the cold weather or that white stuff that comes along with that time of year, but I do love turkey & try to have it as much as possible.  The thought of raising our own turkeys & knowing what is going in to them was going to be a fun thing & the girls could’ve learned from it too.

Oh well, there’s always next year.

So along the lines of turkey, I thought I would share how I cook my turkeys.  A couple of years ago I was watching “The Chew”, one of my favorite shows by the by, & Michael Symon was showing how he cooks his turkeys.

I’ve never seen the way he cooks turkeys before & thought that it seemed to come out great & looked good why not try it.

So I did, & let me tell you it was the best turkey I’ve ever made.  The breast meat wasn’t dry & everyone loved it.  I didn’t add everything to the cavity of the bird that he did but you can use what you like.  I also don’t salt the bird the night before.

So here is the recipe.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Here’s a link to the website:

http://abc.go.com/shows/the-chew/recipes/thanksgiving-michael-symon-juicy-turkey-cheese-cloth

Happy Eating,

The Flip Flop Farm Girl….

Leave a Reply

Categories

